Updated: 03/12/2014 00:36

Three new cycling teams identified

Three new cycling teams identified

Three new cycling towns in Bishan, Bukit Panjang and Woodlands have been identified. 

That'll bring the total number of cycling towns to 15. 

This was announced by Parliamentary Secretary for Transport Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim during the Committee of Supply debate today. 

In more cycling-related updates, Dr Faishal says that bicycle sharing will be piloted at the cycling path network in Marina Bay, once the first phase is completed. 

The scheme could also be launched in HDB towns with completed cycling path networks, such as Tampines and Sembawang. 

"This scheme is practical for those who do not own bicycles, or prefer the convenience of using shared bicycles for one-way trips."

On top of this, Dr Faishal says that government will also be calling for tenders for cycling path networks in Ang Mo Kio, Choa Chu Kang and Toa Payoh by the end of the year. 

He adds that 500 more bicycle racks will be installed at 11 MRT stations from this year.

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn