Updated: 08/30/2014 12:32 | By Agence France-Presse

Pakistan bat against Sri Lanka in ODI decider

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq won the toss and elected to bat in the third and decisive one-day international against Sri Lanka in Dambulla on Saturday.

Pakistan bat against Sri Lanka in ODI decider

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq during the second day of the second Test against Sri Lanka in Colombo on August 15, 2014 - by Lakruwan Wanniarachchi

With the series level at 1-1, Pakistan welcomed back spin spearhead Saeed Ajmal who missed the previous two matches due to a flying visit to Australia to have his bowling action tested.

Ajmal was tested in Brisbane after his action was reported by the umpires during the preceding Test series, which Sri Lanka won 2-0. He is allowed to play on till the results of the tests are made known.

Ajmal replaced left-arm seamer Junaid Khan in the team.

Sri Lanka also made one change, bringing in seamer Dhammika Prasad in place of Nuwan Kulasekara.

Pakistan won the first match in Hambantota by four wickets, before Sri Lanka drew level with a 77-run win in the second game at the same venue.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq (capt), Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Seekuge Prasanna.

Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI) and S. Ravi (IND)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn



facebook recommendations


  • 938 Live

    938LIVE is Singapore's only English news and talk station which transmits round the clock with an engaging and enticing spread of programmes on current affairs, health, business and lifestyle as well as news every half hour until midnight.

  • Capital 958