Updated: 01/04/2014 06:15 | By Agence France-Presse

New Zealand win toss, bat first against West Indies

New Zealand won the toss and opted to bat first in the fourth one-day international against the West Indies here Saturday.

New Zealand win toss, bat first against West Indies

New Zealand's head coach Mike Hesson (L) walks with team captain Brendon McCullum in Queenstown at the Queenstown Event Center on January 1, 2014

"With our experience here domestically I think it will slow up a bit later," skipper Brendon McCullum said of the Saxton Field wicket hosting its first ODI.

Both sides have made two changes from Wednesday's match which New Zealand won by an overwhelming 159 runs.

Pace bowler Tim Southee, who missed the first two ODIs while he underwent toe surgery, returns to the New Zealand side with batsman Kane Williamson in place of Adam Milne and Jimmy Neesham.

The West Indies have brought in Tino Best and Kirk Edwards for Ravi Rampaul, who has a broken thumb, and Kieran Powell.

The series is tied one-all going into the final two matches.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan.

West Indies: Johnson Charles, Lendl Simmons, Kirk Edwards, Dwayne Bravo, Narsingh Deonarine, Chadwick Walton, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Tino Best.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL), Ian Gould (ENG)

TV umpire: Ranmore Martinesz

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn


MSN Video is temporarily unavailable.


facebook recommendations


  • 938 Live

    938LIVE is Singapore's only English news and talk station which transmits round the clock with an engaging and enticing spread of programmes on current affairs, health, business and lifestyle as well as news every half hour until midnight.

  • Capital 958