Updated: 01/28/2014 09:52 | By Agence France-Presse

India win toss, bat first against New Zealand

India won the toss and opted to bat first in a change of strategy in the fourth one-day international against New Zealand in Hamilton on Tuesday. 

India win toss, bat first against New Zealand

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum (2nd R) walks off with his team after drawing the third ODI against India in Auckland on January 25, 2014 - by Nigel Marple

The tourists, who trail 2-0 in the five-match series, chose to bowl in the first three matches, resulting in two defeats and a dramatic tie in Auckland.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni said he believed his side had only been playing at "60 percent of potential" and needed a lift in the crucial fourth match. 

They have made two changes, with Ambati Rayudu and Stuart Binny coming in for Suresh Raina and Shikhar Dhawan. It will be Binny's one-day international debut. 

New Zealand have also made two changes, with Kyle Mills and Jimmy Neesham replacing frontline bowler Mitchell McClenaghan and all-rounder Corey Anderson. 


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (captain), James Neeshan, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Hamish Bennett. 

India: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Ambati Rayudu.

Umpires: Gary Baxter (NZL), Rod Tucker (AUS) 

TV umpire: Billy Bowden (NZL)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn



facebook recommendations


  • 938 Live

    938LIVE is Singapore's only English news and talk station which transmits round the clock with an engaging and enticing spread of programmes on current affairs, health, business and lifestyle as well as news every half hour until midnight.

  • Capital 958