Updated: 02/06/2014 06:36 | By Agence France-Presse

India win toss and bowl against New Zealand

India won the toss and sent New Zealand into bat under heavily overcast skies in the first Test at Eden Park in Auckland on Thursday.

India win toss and bowl against New Zealand

India's cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni smiles during a press conference after the team's arrival at Auckland International Airport for the cricket series against New Zealand on January 13, 2014 - by Nigel Marple

With a green-top wicket, Mahendra Singh Dhoni's decision to bowl was expected although the toss has not always worked in his favour.

He won the toss for all matches in the just-concluded one-day series which New Zealand won 4-0.

"We would have loved to have bowled first but all through the summer we have lost tosses but come out on the right side," New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum said.

"It's going to be tough batting but not insurmountable."

The start of the match was delayed for 15 minutes because of the gloomy conditions and threat of rain.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (c), Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult. 

India: MS Dhoni (c), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami. 

Umpires: Steve Davis (ENG), Richard Kettleborough (ENG) 

TV umpire: Gary Baxter (NZL)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn



facebook recommendations


  • 938 Live

    938LIVE is Singapore's only English news and talk station which transmits round the clock with an engaging and enticing spread of programmes on current affairs, health, business and lifestyle as well as news every half hour until midnight.

  • Capital 958