Updated: 02/02/2014 16:47 | By Agence France-Presse

Australia win toss and bat in final T20 with England

Australia won the toss and chose to bat in the third and final Twenty20 international against England in Sydney on Sunday.

Australia win toss and bat in final T20 with England

Australia's George Bailey plays a shot during the second T20 international match against England in Melbourne on January 31, 2014 - by Mal Fairclough

Australia have already clinched the T20 series with wins in Hobart and Melbourne and will be looking for a clean sweep at Sydney's Olympic stadium.

Australia made two changes, with batsman Chris Lynn and paceman Josh Hazlewood making way for all-rounder Daniel Christian and fast bowler Ben Cutting.

England also made two changes, with paceman Chris Jordan replacing spinner James Tredwell and all-rounder Ben Stokes in for batsman Michael Lumb. Luke Wright will open the innings.

England will be looking to finish their disastrous marathon 103-day tour of Australia with a rare victory, after losing the Ashes Test series 5-0 and the 50-over one-day series 4-1.


Australia - George Bailey (capt), Aaron Finch, Cameron White, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Hodge, Matthew Wade, Dan Christian, Ben Cutting, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Muirhead.

England - Stuart Broad (capt), Alex Hales, Luke Wright, Ben Stokes, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Joseph Buttler, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Chris Jordan, Jade Dernbach.

Umpires: Simon Fry (AUS), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV umpire: John Ward (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn



facebook recommendations


  • 938 Live

    938LIVE is Singapore's only English news and talk station which transmits round the clock with an engaging and enticing spread of programmes on current affairs, health, business and lifestyle as well as news every half hour until midnight.

  • Capital 958